The Protected Mode Parameter


A Windows Client can operate in one of two modes:

• Non-Protected mode: This is the regular mode, without enhanced Client security.

• Protected mode: A mode with enhanced Client security, where the user is not able to edit the Client data (log files, screen captures generated, etc.) or Client settings in the registry, nor edit/remove/modify/rename Client files (*.exe and *.dlls files).


Protected mode can be enabled while installing or updating a Client. It can also be enabled while editing a Client by selecting the Enable protected mode checkbox (on the Editing Client / Editing Client Group page, on the Properties tab, scroll down to the Client Mode section).

If Protected mode is enabled while installing a Client, this change will come into effect immediately.

If Protected mode is enabled while editing a Client, this change will only come into effect after the computer is rebooted.


NOTE: It is not possible to reconnect a Client operating in Protected mode to another Application Server. In this situation, the Client needs to be uninstalled locally, or its mode changed to Non-Protected.

NOTE: The Protected mode feature is only supported for Client machines running Windows 10 and Windows Server 2019/2016. Protected mode is implemented at the driver level.