If the Update Client automatically checkbox is selected (on the Editing Client / Editing Client Group page, on the Properties tab, scroll down to the Client Mode section) to enable this option for a Client, it is updated automatically as soon as it connects to the Application Server whenever a newer version of the Application Server is installed.
If the Update Client automatically checkbox is not selected for a Client, it needs to be updated manually, and is displayed with the gray (offline) status icon () next to it on the left in the list of Clients on the Client Management page.
NOTE: Clients that are not up-to-date continue to monitor user activity and send the data to the Application Server as normal.
NOTE: After a Client is updated, the monitored data it recorded before it was updated will still be accessible.
NOTE: It may not be possible to update very old versions of macOS Clients, in which case the Clients need to reinstalled.
If any macOS Clients are displayed with the yellow status () icon next to them on the left on the Client Management page, this means that these Clients do not have the required macOS permissions, such as Accessibility and Screen Recording (as indicated by the "missing system permissions. Offline" hint when hovering over the icon). These issues can be resolved by manually allowing the missing macOS permissions for these macOS Clients (see the Installing macOS Clients section).
For macOS Ventura Clients displayed with the yellow status () icon next to them, this may also mean that these Clients do not have the required Allow in Background macOS permission (as indicated by the "Ekran System background services disabled. Offline" hint when hovering over the icon). This issue can be resolved by selecting the Ekran System Client.app checkbox in System Preferences > General > Login Items.
NOTE: If at least one Client is experiencing some issue, the yellow exclamation mark () icon is also displayed next to the Client Management navigation link on the left.