Skip to main content
Skip table of contents

Enabling the Displaying of an Additional Message


The option to display an additional pop-up message window on login can be enabled either while editing the Client / Client Group configuration, while defining the Client configuration during remote installation, or while generating the Client installation package for local installation.

By default, the additional message text is: “According to company policy you must agree to the terms in order to continue working on this computer.”. You can alternatively customize this message to be displayed to users.

NOTE: The message can be up to 10,000 symbols in length.


To enable the displaying of an additional pop-up message window while installing a Windows Client, select the Enable displaying of additional message checkbox on the Client Configuration page (if the Client is to be installed remotely) or do the same on the Generate Installation Package page (if the Client is to be installed locally using the installation package).

When the Client is installed, the user will the default notification messages in the window on login unless the text of the messages is changed by editing the Client.


To enable the displaying of an additional pop-up message window on login (and configure the options in it) while editing a Windows Client (or Client group), do the following:

1. Log in to the Management Tool as a user with the Client Configuration Management permission for Clients.

2. Click the Client Management navigation link on the left.

3. On the Client Management page, find the Client which you want to enable the displaying of an additional message for, and click its name in the Client Name column (or select the Client Groups tab and find the required Client group, and then click on its name in the Client Group Name column).

NOTE: To find specific Clients, the Search box and filters at the top of the Client Management page can be used (or to find specific Client groups, the Search box at the top of the Client Groups page can be used).

4. On the Editing Client (or Editing Client Group) page that opens, select the Authentication Options tab, and then select the Enable displaying of additional message checkbox, and optionally customize the message to be displayed to the user.

   

5. Optionally select the corresponding checkboxes to enable the following features:

Customize message header: This option allows you to customize the message displayed to the user in the header of the additional pop-up message window displayed on login (which by default is: "Please read the following important information before continuing.").

Add user consent checkbox: This option allows you to display a user consent checkbox (along with the default text: "I agree to the terms of use." which can be customized), and force the user to select this checkbox so as to provide their consent to the message displayed on the additional pop-up message window displayed on login. The Client will prompt the user to select the user consent checkbox on the additional pop-up message window displayed on login, and only after the user provides their consent (by selecting the checkbox), will they be allowed to access the system by clicking the Continue button.

 Require user's comments: This option allows you to force the user to enter a comment into the additional pop-up message window displayed on login, so as to inform Ekran System administrators of the user's activity. The Client will prompt the user to enter a comment into the Your comment is required field on the additional pop-up message window displayed on login, and only after the user enters a comment, will they be allowed to access the system by clicking the Continue button.

- Require ticket number: If the Require user's comments checkbox is selected, this option allows you to require the user to also enter a valid ticket number created in an integrated ticketing system in order to log in to the Client computer, so as to provide you with an additional layer of authentication. The Client will prompt the user to enter a valid ticket number in the additional pop-up message window displayed on login, and only after the user enters a valid ticket number into the Ticket number is required field (and also enters a comment into the Your comment is required field), will they be allowed to access the system by clicking the Continue button.

6. Click the Finish button (in the bottom right of the page).


Whenever a user then logs in to the Client computer with the displaying of the additional message option enabled, the window is displayed as follows (shown here with all options enabled, and with the default messages):

Only after entering any required information will the user be allowed to access the system (by clicking the Continue button).


JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.